The making of Portia.

So,  Portia, Portia is our fairy, which I have made from a wire kit I bought from a company called Fantasy Wire. They make life size fairy sculptures out of wire, and I have added a few photos of their work,which I find just so amazingly beautiful. You can find their website by clicking this link –  Fantasy Wire website

image

image

image

I have no idea what it costs to have one made,but the nearest I can get was to buy one of their small fairy kits,  where you can make your own. So…. off we go! I got the kit sent to my friend Kathy Brennan in the UK,  and we picked her up when we went back for Dad’s birthday celebration. The base fairy is just that, – a wire skeleton for you to build upon, using the wire provided and very good instructions.

The first thing you have to do is decide what pose you would like her to end up in, as the basic skeleton must be bent into position before you start. We decided we would  like her to be hanging, so these collage photos demonstrate the various stages I went through.

image

You make the basic body structure out of the thicker wire,  twisting and turning around the base. Then you form a head, and gradually build up the shape of the muscles.

image

The you use the finer wire to for the flesh top layer, smoothing everything out a little. I have made some wings which I will attach, but I wanted to make them more filigree than just a plain open wing,so I have used some beads I have leftover from my baglets to decorate the infill wire, so they look like dragon fly wings.

image

We have called her Portia, because she was made in Portugal, in Praia da Rocha,  which is part of Portimao, so Portia seems a great name for her.  I have to wait until we get home before finishing her off properly,  so I will update with a photo of her finally finished when she is ready to meet her public!

Update – here’s the photos of her, finished.
image

image

image

image

2 thoughts on “The making of Portia.

  1. Jackie February 25, 2016 / 12:49 pm

    Portia is very pretty, love the wings. What a talented lady you are. X

    Liked by 1 person

    • Funky Bag Lady February 25, 2016 / 1:51 pm

      Ahh, thanks Jackie, can’t wait to see her totally finished. X

      Like

Leave a Reply

